Australia is the smallest continent in the world. It is also the 6th largest country in the world, after Russia, Canada, China, USA, and Brazil.

There are over 20 million people living in Australia. Australia is divided into six states and two territories. The capital city is Canberra, which is in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT).

The name ‘Australia’ comes from the Latin word ‘australis’, meaning southern.

The largest cities in Australia are Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide.

The world's largest reef system, the Great Barrier Reef, is found off the north-eastern coast of Australia.

Australia has a range of different landscapes, including urban areas, mountain ranges, deserts and rain forests.

Australia is home to a variety of unique animals, including the koala, kangaroo, emu, kookaburra and platypus.

Australia hosted the 1956 (Melbourne) and 2000 (Sydney) Summer Olympics.

Culture and life style - What is to be an Australian?

Australia is a multicultural country. People from around the world have migrated to Australia for many years and have brought with them their culture and wonderful food.

In Australia, the main language is English and the official currency is the Australian dollar (AU$).

Did you know?

There are more than 40 millions of kangaroos in Australia now.This is more than the total population of Australia!

We have more sheep than kangaroos! There are about 140 million sheep. That's why Australia is worldwide famous for their wool quality.